Vanity Upon Vanity

Caleb-K
2 min readSep 23, 2023

Vanity upon vanity, a ceaseless refrain,
All is vanity, the echoes of human strain.
Man toils and sweats, his efforts in vain,
In vanity he toils, enduring endless pain.

In vain, generations come n’ leave like mist,
Leaving behind the scars of wars, worn persist;
On earth remains the only battleground,
In the space of time, where no victors are found.

In vain, the sun ascends, its rays they glow,
Awakening life with a radiant green show.
The sun sets, leaving death’s brown stain
A cold constant cycle in vanity’s cruel domain.

In vain, the wind sprints across the land,
A timeless dance, in nature’s broken hand.
In vain, the rivers follow and flow,
Whispering secrets, to the earth below.

For the sea hasn’t been filled, its depths untold,
The restless wind still runs through ages, ever bold.
Why, then, persist in this unending quest,
Vanity upon vanity, the heart’s unrest.

Your eyes ever seek, never satisfied,
Ears yearn for more, your hunger never appetized.
In fleeting pleasures, your heart takes delight,
Vanity upon vanity, day and night.

I sought wisdom’s path, its treasures to find,
Yet madness and folly, I found in the corners of the mind
In the pursuit of knowledge, I travelled far and wide,
Only to find, in the end, all is vanity, cast aside.

In knowledge, I discovered grief and sorrow’s trace,
WUBBA LUBBA DUB-DUB!!!;
I cry in this boundless space

I’ll sing till the morrow, with each rising sun,
In the realm of vanity, where journeys are spun.

Thank you for reading.

Follow and clap for more.

Inspired by Solomon.

--

--

Caleb-K

(Currently on Hiatus :( )I keep writing its like a high. I just cant help myself. Won't be a bore no matter the weather. Words on words on...